Click to Home
Go To Search
HomeEmailPrintRSS
Handgun Permit
Requirements
The following restrictions apply to the possession of firearms, to transferee permits, and reports of transfer for handguns and semiautomatic military-style assault weapons.
  • Must be at least 18 years old to purchase a handgun or semiautomatic military-style assault weapons from a licensed dealer, and under federal law must be at least 21 years old to acquire handguns from licensed dealers.
  • Must not have been convicted of a crime of violence (as defined in Minnesota Statutes §624.712, subdivision 5) in Minnesota or elsewhere unless civil rights have been restored and during that time you have not been convicted of any other crime of violence.
  • Must not have been convicted of fifth-degree assault as defined in Minnesota Statutes §609.224 or domestic assault as defined in Minnesota Statutes §609.2242 in Minnesota or elsewhere since August 1, 1992: (1) within 3 years of a previous assault conviction under Minnesota Statues §609.221 to §609.224; or (2) where the assault victim was a family or household member, unless 3 years have elapsed since the date of conviction and during that time you have not been convicted of any other fifth-degree or domestic assault.
  • Must not have been judicially committed to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere as “mentally ill,” “mentally retarded,” or “mentally ill and dangerous to the public.”
  • Must not have been either convicted in Minnesota or elsewhere of unlawful use, possession or sale of a controlled substance (other than possession of a small amount of marijuana), or hospitalized or committed for treatment for the habitual use of a controlled substance or marijuana, unless you possess a certificate from a medical doctor or psychiatrist, or other satisfactory proof, that you have not abused a controlled substance during the past two years.
  • Must not have been confined or committed to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere as chemically dependent, unless you have completed treatment.
  • Must not be a peace officer who has been informally admitted to a treatment facility for chemical dependency, unless you possess a certificate from the head of the treatment facility discharging or provisionally discharging you from that facility.
  • Must not have been convicted in Minnesota or elsewhere of a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than a year (other than offenses pertaining to antitrust violations, unfair trade practices, restraints of trade, or similar offenses relating to the regulation of business practices) unless your civil rights have been restored or the conviction has been pardoned, expunged, or set aside.
  • Must not be a fugitive from justice.
  • Must not be an unlawful user of any controlled substance as defined in Chapter 152 of Minnesota Statutes.
  • Must not be an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States.
  • Must not have been discharged from the armed forces of the United States under dishonorable conditions.
  • Must not have renounced your United States citizenship.
  • Must not have been confined to a treatment facility in Minnesota or elsewhere as “mentally ill,” mentally retarded,” or “mentally ill and dangerous to the public” or found incompetent to stand trial or not guilty by reason of mental illness unless you possess a certificate from a medical doctor or psychiatrist licensed in Minnesota, or other satisfactory proof that you no longer suffer from this disability.
  • Must not be subject to a court order that (1) was issued after a hearing of which you had actual notice and at which you had an opportunity to participate; (2) restrains you from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner, a child of an intimate partner, or your own child, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to that person or a child; and (3) includes a finding that you represent a credible threat to the physical safety of such intimate partner or child or by its terms explicitly prohibits the use, attempted use, or threatened use of physical force against such intimate partner or child that would reasonably be expected to cause bodily injury.
  • Must not have been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence as meant by 18 United States Code section 922(g)(9).

Permit to Purchase

  • Required to purchase or transfer any handgun.
  • Fill out form and bring it to the EGFPD with your driver's license.
  • YOUR MN DRIVER'S LICENSE ADDRESS MUST BE WITHIN THE CITY LIMITS!  
  • County residents must bring completed form to the Sheriff's Office in Crookston.

Permit to Carry

Follow this link


City of East Grand Forks | 600 DeMers Ave. | East Grand Forks, MN 56721
Home |Contact Us | Disclaimer | Copyright Notice | Site Map | Accessibility | Powered by CivicPlus