campbell-unclassified-blog-header

Campbell Unclassified

A diverse series of articles by library staff about all things libraries and books!
Book Notes | Recommendations | Articles


⇐ Return to Library Website | Browse the Catalog | Overdrive Catalog | Contact Us

Dec 01

Book Notes 11/30/2020

Posted on December 1, 2020 at 1:26 PM by Genesis Gaule

Open books and the words book notes

11/30/2020


The Campbell Library is open to the public Tuesdays (9am-7pm) and Fridays (9am-5pm). We also offer Front Door Pick Up and half hour appointments for browsing or computer use Mondays and Wednesdays (9am-5pm), and Thursdays (9am-7pm).


Wandering in Strange Lands by Morgan Jerkins

A Daughter of the Great Migration Reclaims Her Roots // Between 1916 to 1970, six million black Americans left the South for jobs in a movement known as The Great Migration. In this fascinating and personal exploration, Jerkins recreates her ancestors’ journeys across America.

American Sherlock by Kate Winkler Dawson

Murder, forensics, and the birth of American CSI // Dawson captures the life of Edward Oscar Heinrich, known as the “American Sherlock Holmes” and one of America’s greatest—and first—forensic scientists whose skill for finding clues was almost supernatural.

Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi

Gifty’s brother died of a heroin overdose after an injury left him hooked on OxyContin, and her suicidal mother is living in her bed. Gifty is determined to discover the scientific basis for the suffering she sees all around her.

Sharks in the Time of Saviors by Kawai Strong Washburn

Seven-year-old Nainoa falls overboard to sharks, only to be returned safely in the jaws of a shark. His rescue hailed by his family as a sign from the Hawaiian gods, but as time passes, this supposed divine favor begins to drive the family apart.


If you need help accessing any of these titles or using front door pickup, email or call us and we will be happy to assist you!

View Book Notes PDF archive

Nov 23

Book Notes 11/23/2020

Posted on November 23, 2020 at 9:32 AM by Genesis Gaule

Open books and the words book notes

11/23/2020


The Campbell Library is open to the public Tuesdays (9am-7pm) and Fridays (9am-5pm). We also offer Front Door Pick Up and half hour appointments for browsing or computer use Mondays and Wednesdays (9am-5pm), and Thursdays (9am-7pm).


Children of the Land by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo

With beauty, grace, and honestly, Castillo recounts his life as a boy who perfected his English in hopes that he’d never seem extraordinary after he immigrated from Mexico to the US before becoming the celebrated poet he is today.

The Hilarious World of Depression by John Moe

Depression has always plagued Moe and his family, even claiming his brother’s life in 2007. Host of a podcast of the same name, Moe writes this investigation of the disease, part memoir and part treasure trove of stories and insights from others.

Anxious People by Fredrik Backman

An apartment open house becomes a hostage situation when a failed bank robber bursts in. However, each of the strangers carries a lifetime of grievances, hurts, secrets, and passions that are ready to boil over, along with them all desperately craving some sort of rescue.

Mother Daughter Widow Wife by Robin Wasserman

Who is Wendy Doe? The woman, found on a Peter Pan Bus to Philadelphia, mas no money, no ID, and no memory of who she is, where she was going, or what she might have done.


If you need help accessing any of these titles or using front door pickup, email or call us and we will be happy to assist you!

View Book Notes PDF archive

Nov 20

Stories from Behind the Scenes by Genesis Gaule

Posted on November 20, 2020 at 1:41 PM by Genesis Gaule

One of my favorite parts of home movie releases are the special features--especially the behind-the-scenes segments with the cast and crew. I love seeing who is behind iconic characters, their creative process, and what didn't make it to the final cut. So, let's take a look behind the scenes at a few of my childhood staples and the actors who brought these iconic characters to life.

As You Wish by Cary Elwes

Inconceivable tales from the making of The Princess Bride

Written and wonderfully narrated by Westley himself, Cary Elwes, As You Wish is a first-person account of the making of The Princess Bride. Along with interviews from the cast and crew, Elwes takes us from casting call to filming to home release, weaving in production details, bloopers, and insight into the people behind this cult classic. Humorous and heartwarming, the book overflows with genuine affection for the experiences had during the making of the film. For fans of The Princess Bride, I can't recommend this book enough!

Confessions of a Prairie Bitch by Alison Arngrim

How I survived Nellie Oleson and learned to love being hated

With biting wit and stark honesty, Arngrim details her life (as well as a little behind-the-scenes gossip) on the set of Little House on the Prairie and how playing one of the most hated characters on television shaped who she is today. But off the set, Arngrim was struggling. Painfully shy and plagued with sexual abuse from her older brother, Arngrim found a strength and stability in Nellie she sorely needed in her life.

I am Big Bird

The Caroll Spinney story
DVD | NR (Suggested audience 13 and up) | 1h 30m

i-am-big-bird

It has always seemed magical to me, the way a good puppeteer is able to make you believe that a bit of foam and wire is a living breathing creature. Truly great puppeteers even make you forget the puppeteer is present at all. Caroll Spinney was one such person. Covering a large swath of Spinney’s life and work--his triumphs and tribulations--I Am Big Bird gives the viewer a glimpse into the man behind the muppet and is uplifting homage to a person who’s touched countless lives.

Won't You Be My Neighbor

DVD | PG-13 | 1h 34m

Wont-You-Be-My-Neighbor

Mixing footage from the iconic public television show Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood and interviews with friends, family, and colleagues, this touching tribute poignantly reminds us of the overwhelming good Rogers gave to this world while also gently humanizing this legendary figure. Fred Rogers was a man who lived his life with grace, kindness, and integrity--on and off the screen--even in the midst of his own struggles. I think, especially now, those are good things to be reminded of and emulate in our own lives.